Summit Climbs

Classic Summit Climb

This classic climb to the rim of Mount St. Helens offers an amazing opportunity to reach the top of the Pacific Northwest’s most spectacular volcano and learn about the area’s natural and cultural history in the comfort of a guided group. Designed for first-time climbers or those wishing to learn from our experienced and knowledgeable mountain guides, the Summit Climb provides an unforgettable adventure to those bold enough to climb an active Cascade volcano!

**Summit Climb with a Geologist

Led by a professional geologist, you will delve into the fascinating and complex geology of Mount St. Helens, while experiencing it firsthand! The geologist will explain all facets of the geology of Mount St. Helens and answer questions while ascending Monitor Ridge to the rim. This is a perfect opportunity for anyone looking to combine their interests of climbing and geology. Dates marked with asterisks.

  • Minimum Age: 12+ (minors must be accompanied by an adult)
  • Maximum Group Size: 10
  • Permits: Fee includes a climbing permit.
  • Duration: 6:00 AM ~ 6:00 PM
  • Classic Summit Climb Cost: $255 / person
  • **Summit with a Geologist: $265 / person.

 

  Winter Route (typically June climbs) Summer Route (typically July climbs or later)
Distance 12 miles round-trip 10 miles round-trip
Elevation Gain 5,500 ft 4,500 ft
Location Marble Mountain Sno-Park Climber's Bivouac Trailhead

 

June 2021 July 2021 August 2021 September 2021
Saturday, June 19 Saturday, July 3 Sunday, August 1 Saturday, September 4
Sunday, June 20 Sunday, July 4 **Saturday, August 7 Sunday, September 5
Saturday, June 26 Saturday, July 10 Sunday, August 8 Saturday, September 11
Sunday, June 27 Sunday, July 11 Saturday, August 14 Sunday, September 12

Saturday, July 17 Sunday, August 15 Saturday, September 18

Sunday, July 18 Saturday, August 21 Sunday, September 19

Saturday, July 24 Sunday, August 22


**Sunday, July 25 Saturday, August 28


Saturday, July 31 **Sunday, August 29


Route Descriptions

Program Policies

Suggested Packing List